LAGERS: 2023 Tailspin Competition


It’s true!  We’ll be bringing back the Tailspin BBOT competition for the 10th anniversary of Tailspin. If you participated in the past, there are a few changes to the rules (lowered the gravity limit, allowing Philly Sour yeast and fruit flavorings), but for the most part, it remains the same. We have a very limited time frame this year, so I’d suggest picking a beer that needs minimal conditioning.   Without further ado, here are all the details:

Entry Rules: Entries must be brewed to a gravity limit of 1.080

Entries may not be brewed using:
Syrups: Belgian, treacle, molasses, honey, maple syrup, etc.
Wood: barrel, chips or spirals
No funky yeast: Brett, Lacto, Pedio, etc.
Whole vanilla beans

Entries may be brewed using:
Fruit: Syrup flavorings only.  No puree, whole fruit, etc.
Dry hops
Philly Sour Yeast: Philly only, no traditional kettle sours
Plain sugar (white, table)
Unique ingredients that do not conflict with above

Any type of beer may be submitted and does not have to conform to a BJCP style

Entry Information
This is a bottle competition and brewers are limited to three unique entries.
Must submit two bottles per entry
Must submit full recipe per entry to:
Attach a label to each bottle with:
Brewer Name
Brewer Contact
Entry name

Participation: The competition is free to all LAGERS club members. Anyone from the public may also participate for a $20 fee (per entrant, not entry), which also pays for your LAGERS membership.

Judging Format:  The winners will be selected by a crew comprised of Apocalypse and Tailspin staff. Best beer on the table wins. Considerations such as difficulty, time to brew, and public interest will be made on top of the overall flavor, aroma, and appearance of the beer. The first, second, and third-place winners will receive a ticket to Tailspin and the winner will also receive special recognition at the Tailspin Ale Festival.

Due Date: Entries must be received between January 17-20.

Awards: The winner will brew their beer with brewmaster Leah Dienes to be served as the signature beer for the 2023 Tailspin Ale Festival. The placed winners will receive a ticket to tailspin and special recognition at the event.