2020 Tailspin Ale Festival Competition Winners


Thank you to those of you that participated in our annual Tailspin Ale Fest Competition on such short notice. We had a whopping 12 entries with 6 advancing to the next round and 4 winners. Without further adieu, your tailspin winners are:

🥇David Pike – Iron Pike’s Thin Mint Stout (Mint chocolate chip flavoring, cacao nibs, lactose stout)

🥈Brandon Schaefer – Nutella Porter (hazelnut, cocoa, vanilla porter)

🥉Greg Butorin & Sarah Popko – Humulunimbus (NEIPA)

HM: Craig Gardone – Top of the Morning To You! (Vanilla and Coffee RIS)

Congratulations to the winners. David will go on to brew his beer at Apocalypse sometime this month and it will be served at multiple locations, including this year’s Tailspin Ale Festival. We will have a tapping party on March 4th at Evergreen Liquors from 4:00 PM – 7:00 PM. We ask that all the winners be available and present for the tapping party and that all the LAGERS come to show your support for not only David but Apocalypse and Tailspin as well. We hope to see you there!

To everyone that entered, I have a general admission ticket to the Tailspin Ale Festival for you. The 4 winners will receive VIP tickets. We will have your tickets available during the February 17th LAGERS meeting at Akasha Brewing Co. If you can’t make it, please email us to make arrangements. Additionally, there is one VIP ticket reserved for sale (currently all sold out online) to anyone interested, priority to any of the competition winners. Let us know if you are interested.

Everyone had a great time judging your beers and we already began planning for next year! Our guest judges this year were:

Mike Fisk – Cox’s 
Marvis Herring – WLKY 32 Anchor
Sara Havens – The Bar Belle
Kevin Gibson – Hello Louisville
Tish & Trevor – Tailspin